Archive for April 9th, 2012

Passover 2012: Another Successful “Seder Express”

April 9, 2012

Matzo Cover

On Friday night, Michael and I were joined in our apartment by J., the P.G.,  my brother, his wife, and her mom (who is also my dear friend) for our “seder express” – our Cliff’s Notes version which touches the highlights of the first half and gets us quickly to the meal.

Seder "Express"

As usual, we started with gefilte fish. I’ve never been tempted to make it from scratch. Mother’s Old Fashioned in broth (not encased in that vile jellied stuff) is more than fine with me. And, of course, no holiday dinner would be complete without my famous chopped salad. There would be a rebellion in the ranks if it wasn’t on the table.

My Famous Chopped Salad

For the main meat, I wanted to do something different this year. So, instead of chicken or pot roast, I made lamb shanks, which tuned out really well. The accompaniments were roasted rosemary potatoes and steamed asparagus dressed with lemon butter.

Lamb Shank, Roasted Potatoes, Asparagus

For dessert, an eagerly anticipated annual “event”: my Cheese Pie with Egg Kichel Crust.*

Cheese Pie with Egg Kichel Crust and Strawberries

It’s been years since we’ve gone back after the meal to do the ceremonial second half. This time, we decided to do it. Well, not exactly all of it. In keeping with the “seder express” concept, we skipped to the Haggadah’s final three songs: “Adir Hu,” “Echad Mi Yodeah,” and “Chad Gadyah.” All three are very jolly, and singing them was a lot of fun. We ended with the “Hatikvah,” Israel’s national anthem.

To see all the photos from this seder dinner, click here.

*The recipe for my Cheese Pie with Egg Kichel Crust can be found here.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers