Archive for May 22nd, 2012

NYT Sunday Puzzle – May 20, 2012

May 22, 2012

NYT Sunday Puzzle - May 20, 2012

Title: Wisecracks

I got this fairly quickly. Dropping the letter “Y” from the end of a word in the theme answers.

23A. Chocolat, say? = Treat(y) of Versaille
39A. Macho drag queen? = A Stud(y) in Scarlett
50A. Like literary classics? = Good and read(y)
54A. Call to the bar? = Beer bell(y)
68A. Like a centaur? = Part(y) animal
70A. “Don’t let that youngster get off without paying!”? = Bill(y) the Kid
86A. Unbiased account? = Fair(y) tale
89A. Announcement made by a transplant surgeon, perhaps? = Liver(y) stable
97A. Stigmatize a “great” king? = Brand(y) Alexander
119A. Two reasons to avoid a dog kennel = The Sound and the Fur(y).

Clever and fun. That last one really had me chuckling.

The upper right section gave me the most trouble and nearly did make me “go postal” – the answer to 18D. Lose it. First, I filled in “Told a lie” for 16D. Was duplicitous. But even after getting 18 Down, I was stumped by 17D. Former co-host of “The View.” I’ve never watched that program, so I had no idea who it was. But after filling in enough other letters, I finally figured out the answer: (Rosie) O’Donnell.

35A. Word repeated four times in the last line of Shakespeare’s “All’s the world’s a stage” speech. An interesting clue. This is one of Shakespeare’s most famous monologues. I have, of course, read it more than once, but not recently. So, it took me forever to figure out the answer: sans. The last line: “Sans teeth, sans eyes, sans taste, sans everything.”

95A. Omelette ingredient. Note the French spelling. Answer: oeuf (the French word for “egg”)

Two baseball clues:

60A. Hall-of-Fame pitcher Joss. Answer Addie. Not a player I’d heard of. According to Wiki, Adrien “Addie” Joss was a pitcher for the Cleveland Bluebird/Naps 1902-10.

84A. Baseball’s strikeout king. Answer: (Nolan) Ryan.

33A. When repeated, an old New Orleans tune. Answer: Iko. Never heard of it, so I headed over to YouTube.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers