Strawberry Fest Friday

Having unintentionally picked 7 lbs. of strawberries, I was faced with a little problem — What to do with them? I immediately decided that the next day would be “Strawberry Fest Friday.” That is, I would use strawberries in every dish in all three meals.

Breakfast was a cinch. For M, strawberries with cottage cheese. For me, French toast topped with strawberries.

French Toast with Strawberries

For lunch and dinner, I did some recipe hunting and came up with a few ideas.

On the Driscoll Berries website, I found a recipe for Strawberry Caprese Pasta Salad. This struck me as a bit unusual because I’d never thought of doing pasta with fruit. Easy and perfect for lunch.

Strawberry Caprese Pasta Salad

Though the recipe called for shells, I used gemelli. And I didn’t have any mozzarella balls on hand, so I cut the mozzarella I did have into small chunks. I combined hulled and sliced strawberries with the cooked gemelli and the mozzarella chunks, added thinly-sliced red onion, and a chiffonade of basil, then dressed the salad with a balsamic-Dijon mustard vinaigrette.

The dish had a variety of textures and flavors, which worked very well together: the slightly al dente pasta; the sweetness from the juicy berries; the mildness of the cheese; the slight sharpness of the onion; the floral basil; and the tangy dressing.

For “dessert,” I made myself a strawberry-chocolate smoothie.

Strawberry-Chocolate Smoothie

For dinner, I created a salad to start: Red leaf lettuce, strawberries, chèvre, and red onion, dressed with a strawberry-balsamic vinaigrette.

Salad with Strawberries and Chèvre

When it came to the main course, the Driscoll site had a recipe for Grilled Chicken Breast with Strawberry Red Wine Balsamic Sauce. That sauce sounded delicious; however, chicken seemed too mundane, so I substituted duck breast. Cooked medium rare, the duck with the sauce plus fresh strawberries was sensational! Accompaniments were wild rice tossed with sautéed onions and mushrooms and toasted pecans, and sugar snap peas lightly coated with butter.

Magret with Strawberry Red Wine Balsamic Sauce

For dessert, I made a strawberry crisp based on a recipe from Classic Home Desserts, by Richard Sax. Served warm and topped with Breyer’s Vanilla Ice Cream. Yum!

Warm Strawberry Crisp

5 Responses to “Strawberry Fest Friday”

  1. ulterior epicure Says:

    My gosh. Who needs four-star dining when you’ve got the Wizard of Roz in the kitchen?!

  2. thewizardofroz Says:

    High praise, indeed! Thanks!

    You have an open-ended invitation to dine “Chez The Wizard,” where, I assure you, the price is right! *big grin*

  3. ulterior epicure Says:

    LOL! Deal.

  4. Jennifer Says:

    All those strawberry dishes sound delicious. I’ll have to try making some of them.

  5. thewizardofroz Says:

    Jen,

    I’ll be happy to provide the recipes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

