The Dog Days of Summer

The Memorial Day weekend marks the official start of the hot dog season chez The Wizard. I will serve them every so often during the next few months. After Labor Day, they will be gone. For me, hot dogs are strictly a summer food.

Hebrew National, the brand that “answers to a higher authority,” is the only kind I use.  I buy the fresh ones cut from strings. The packaged ones suck. This is not just a holdover from the years when I kept kosher at home. I prefer the taste of an all-beef hot dog, and the Hebrew National, with its slightly spicy flavor, is delicious.

M and I spent a quiet holiday weekend at our house.  Just the two of us.  The weather was gorgeous. We ate al fresco.

On the Grill

Ready to be Dressed
Hot Off the Grill and Ready to be Dressed

Deli Mustard

Sour Kraut and Pickles
Batampte Sour Kraut and Pickles

All Dressed Up
All Dressed Up

Baked Beans
Busch’s Vegetarian Baked Beans

Cole Slaw
Homemade Cole Slaw

Dr. Brown's Cream Soda

4 Responses to “The Dog Days of Summer”

  1. ulterior epicure Says:

    @ Wizard of Roz: It kills me that you said, “The packaged ones SUCK.” I don’t know why, but it kills me.

  2. thewizardofroz Says:

    @ u.e., LOL!

  3. mbw1024 Says:

    we get these @ Wegmans’. YUM!

  4. thewizardofroz Says:

    Hi Mary Beth,

    Glad to see you here! 🙂 Again, sorry about that url mistake.

    I, too, get them at Wegmans. I used to get them at my kosher butcher, but he retired last November, and the kosher butcher that took over his location (in Old Bridge) doesn’t carry them. I feared not being able to find them in our area, so I was thrilled to discover them at Wegmans.

Leave a Reply

