♫ “Take me out to the ballgame…”*

The Wizard and Mr. RBI (aka M) went to a Yankees game this past Thursday evening.

Yankees vs KC Royals

My first time at the new stadium, his second.

Yankee Stadium

It was “Cap Day.” The first 18,000 fans to enter the Stadium got a Yankees cap.

Cap Day

♫ “Take me out with the crowd.”

There was a near capacity crowd. The Stadium holds 50,000. Thursday’s attendance: 48,000.

Near Capacity

♫ “Buy me some peanuts and Cracker Jack.”

No peanuts or Cracker Jacks. For us, baseball and a hot dog are a tradition. Since I hate those water-logged dogs they come around with in the stands, and Mr. RBI refuses to miss a moment of the action (He has his own score sheet!), I’m the DFG (Designated Food Getter).

Watching the Action
Mr. RBI (on the right) is glued to the action.

So, around the 7th inning, I went off to get us each a Hebrew National grilled dog. Two dogs + a Diet Pepsi for him and fresh lemonade for me. Cost: $31.25. Insane! But, hey! What are you going to do?

♫ “I don’t care if I never get back.”

Getting there and back is easy: a 20-minute ride on the 4 Express, which stops right in front of the Stadium.

The New Yankee Stadium

The New Yankee Stadium

♫ “Let me root, root, root for the home team!”

My Dad began taking me to baseball games at Yankee Stadium and to the Polo Grounds, home of the then-NY Giants, when I was about 10. As we sat way up in the Grand Stand, he would explain the rudiments of the game to me. I became a Yankees fan and have remained so to this day. When I became old enough to go to games on my own, my friends and I – all Yankees fans — would take the D train up to the stadium. Before the game, we would wait outside in front of the players’ entrance and watch them arrive. My favorites were Mickey Mantle (#7) and Yogi Berra (#8). Mantle, a switch-hitter, always batted third in the line-up followed by Yogi in the “clean-up” spot.

M, who grew up in Brooklyn, was a rabid Brooklyn Dodgers fan (the team affectionately known as “Dem Bums”) and spent many happy hours at their home stadium, Ebbets Field. When they moved to LA in 1957, he was crushed. He then changed his allegiance to the Yankees.

♫ “If they don’t win it’s a shame!”

No shame on Thursday!

Yanks Win!

It was a very exciting game, including an inside-the-park home run for the Yanks. They beat the Royals 10-4.

♫ “For it’s one, two, three strikes,
You’re out!
At the old ballgame.” ♫

Moon Over Yankee Stadium

* This famous baseball anthem is the refrain in a poem written in 1908 by Jack Nowath, a vaudeville entertainer, who got inspired while riding the subway by a sign that said, “Baseball Today at the Polo Grounds.” His words were set to music by Albert Von Tilzer. Neither man had ever seen a baseball game.

It is played at Yankee Stadium, in accordance with tradition, during the 7th inning stretch. We always sing along.

You can see the entire set of photos I took at the game here on my Flickr.

8 Responses to “♫ “Take me out to the ballgame…”*”

  1. JR Says:

    Glad you had a good time at the game. Over 30 bucks for two hot dogs and two drinks? That’s insane.

  2. thewizardofroz Says:

    Yeah, exhorbitant is being too kind. More like extortion!

    The seat location was perfect for me. 🙂 I hope next time you and the P.G. can go with us.

  3. ulterior epicure Says:

    Heh, so we send out team to get massacred by your team. (No surprise.) Great photos, wizard!

  4. M Says:

    Actually, the Royals would have a better team if they could get better pitching. They hit rather well

  5. mbw1024 Says:

    Great photos! My husband and I met up with some transplanted fans from Georgia on Sunday. I was too hot to carry a camera 🙂 When the rains came I gave up.
    Second visit to the new park for us – and we had those same dogs that you enjoyed!

  6. thewizardofroz Says:

    @ u.e., Oooh! A compliment from the master photographer! I’m verklempt! 🙂 The Royals’ pitchers actually kept the score pretty close. It was 6-4 Yanks at the end of the 7th. But the Yanks broke it wide open scoring 4 runs in the bottom of the 8th.

    @mbw1024, Thanks for the compliment! 🙂 I don’t know how fans sit out there in that extreme heat. Or how the players don’t pass out when temps on the field are 100+. Sorry that the game was spoiled for you by the rain. But it sure cooled things down! Here in NJ, it went from the mid-80’s and muggy to 69 with a cool breeze in a matter of seconds.

    They sell two types of Hebrew National dogs: foot-longs ($5+, I think) and smaller, fatter ones ($8). We got the latter. The dog was delicious, but the bun wasn’t great. I didn’t notice any deli mustard, just packets of French’s. Not only am I not crazy about that mustard, but I can never get those damn packets open.

  7. mbw1024 Says:

    we got the foot longs and the bun was also horrible. I did get spicy brown mustard from a pump thingy that was near the foot long stand. we were in 325.

  8. thewizardofroz Says:

    We were on Main Level in 229. The foot-longs were actually closer to us at 232 while the fat dogs, which we prefer, were at 223. I don’t recall seeing those pump thingies nearby, but next time, I’ll check more carefully.

    The buns seemed to have been pre-heated, then sat there and got dried out. Blech!

Leave a Reply

