At Home: A Chef’s Signature Dish

M subscribes to the Wine Spectator. A few days ago, the Sept. 30 issue arrived. The cover story, “The Art & Science of Matching Wine & Food,” featured eight recipes from well-known chefs. One of them, “Spaghetti with Fresh Tomato Sauce and Basil,”* has become a signature dish of Chef Scott Conant at his NYC Italian spot, Scarpetta.

We’ve been to Scarpetta twice. We’d heard the raves about this dish. So, during our first visit, of course, M and I shared a portion. Well, let me tell you. The raves were totally justified. The spaghetti was cooked perfectly, and the sauce had an incredibly deep, rich tomato flavor which totally knocked our gustatory socks off!

Spaghetti, Tomato, Basil

The recipe has been on Scarpetta’s website** for quite some time. I’d looked at it but never gotten around to making it. Seeing it in the Wine Spectator spurred me to do so. I decided to put it together for last night’s dinner. So, yesterday afternoon, I went down to Delicious Orchards to pick up some Jersey plum tomatoes and a fresh bunch of basil. I had all the other ingredients on hand.

Easy to prepare, the dish is ready to eat in fairly short order. Simplicity incarnate! Delectable!

"Spaghetti, Tomato, Basil"

Click here to see all the photos related to this recipe.

For the recipe, click here.

*At the restaurant, the menu lists it as simply “Spaghetti, Tomato, Basil.”

**Scarpetta has THE most user-UNfriendly website! And even if you get the hang of it, the menu information is totally out-of-date.

3 Responses to “At Home: A Chef’s Signature Dish”

  1. mbw1024 Says:

    that is making my mouth water!

  2. Kate Says:

    I can’t wait to try this dish on Saturday. Thanks for all your wonderful pictures on Flickr. They’ve been so great while planning our latest trip to the City.

  3. thewizardofroz Says:

    Hi Kate, Thanks for visiting my blog and for your kind words about my photos. Because of my medical situation, I was not able to approve your post until now. I hope you enjoyed your meal at Scarpetta, and that this dish met your expectations.

Leave a Reply

