Happy New Year!

So, where have I been the past four months? I wish I could tell you that I was on an around-the-word cruise visiting all sorts of exotic locales. But no such luck!

Unfortunately, since the end of August, I’ve been dealing with a herniated disk in my neck pinching a nerve causing excruciating pain down my left arm, plus severe pins and needles starting in my fingers and traveling up my arm.

The pain started while we were away for a few days in Maine (more about that trip in a future post) and became increasingly severe when we got home. Because the pain at first mainly situated itself in the elbow area, the doctor misdiagnosed the problem as tennis elbow and suggested a cortisone shot to ease the pain. It did nothing of the sort. If anything, the pain increased. Then, the tingling in my fingers began — a clue that the problem was cervical. An MRI confirmed that the problem was at the C6,C7 level, i.e., where the neck meets the shoulder.

To say that normal life was interrupted is a towering understatement. Nerve pain’s intensity is extremely debilitating and depressing.

I started physical therapy and added acupuncture in October, but the healing process has been staggeringly slow!

One of the many consequences of this situation was the inability to sit in front of the computer because doing so immediately caused the pain and pins & needles to escalate to an unbearable level. Ergo, my silence.

By early November, there was enough diminution of pain related to aspects of my life, like driving and cooking, so that I was able to regain some semblance of normalcy, including coming into NYC and eating out.

However, the situation with the computer lagged far behind. It was only a few weeks ago that the pain level in that regard became reduced just enough to allow me to sit for very short periods and respond briefly to emails. Now, the pain is much lower and, though the pins & needles still pose a problem, I can sit at the computer for longer periods.

The healing process is on-going, I’m continuing with p.t. and acupuncture, and it is my fervent hope to be totally pain- and pins & needles-free in the not-too-distant future.
Nevertheless, I now feel physically ready to begin blogging regularly again. Also, I have a lot of catching up to do with regard to loading photos onto my Flickr. There is a mountainous accumulation, so getting them up there, arranging and labeling them is a monumental task that will take a few weeks. I’ve already started, and some of them will be ready for viewing very soon.

I want to sincerely thank all of you who have visited my blog during the past year. I feel honored that you took the time to stop by and hope you will continue to do so.

My very best wishes to everyone for a healthy, prosperous, and joy-filled 2011!

12 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. ulterior epicure Says:

    Yay, she’s back! A great way to star the new year, Roz. I hope for many more great meals together in 2011.

  2. thewizardofroz Says:

    Thanks, u.e.! My dear friend and blog mentor. 🙂 I feel confident that 2011 will be an amazing year for you, and that we will share many more memorable dining experiences.

  3. mbw1024 Says:

    Oh Roz .. I feel your pain, literally. In 2003 I suffered terribly with a herniated disc in my low back and like you my life was seriously interrupted for several months. It did take time and a lot of PT but I have been mostly pain free since. Although my left foot still reminds me that the disc is in fact still herniated.
    I was really hoping you were on that cruise! Hope you contine to recover. Happy New Year to you!

  4. bgut1 Says:

    Welcome Back Roz! I’m so happy you are doing well. You have been sorely missed these past four months both on your blog as well as Chowhound. The internet is a much better place with you back in it. My regards and new years wishes to you, M and the family.

  5. Jersey Foodies Says:

    Best of luck on a speedy recovery RGR! Cheers!

  6. phoenikia Says:

    Happy you’re blogging and posting again on CH 😉 Hope you are feeling better soon, and wish you much happiness and good health in 2011!

  7. Eileen Says:

    Happy 2011! So very happy you are better! We all missed you so much, as you can see. Chowhound just was NOT the same without you. God bless and looking forward to reading your posts! xo

  8. foody4life Says:

    RGR – really great to hear your voice (via keypad) again both here and on CH!! All the best for 2011 and continued improvement.

  9. Drew Says:

    Happy New Year! I’m happy to see you back online, and I’m glad you’re feeling better! bgut1 said it best above! Welcome back!

  10. Jason GG Says:

    Happy new year and welcome back, RGR! I have to admit to being a bit worried and almost asked after you at EMP the other day to see if they had seen you. Best wishes from another Colts Neck resident – GG

  11. Susan Marme Says:

    Hi and Happy New Year, having suffered through an extremely painful and as yet undiagnosed condition (benign, from all the tests, but nasty) from last October through the middle of December myself, I more than sympathize. Glad you’re better and happy to be reading you again. Cheers. Susan Marmé aka “buttertart”

  12. thewizardofroz Says:

    Wow! So many wonderful wishes have given me a giant case of the warm and fuzzies!

    Bob, It’s hard to express how much I truly appreciated your phone call because you were concerned.

    Eileen, I’m lucky to have you as a booster.

    Drew, You are the best! We’re way overdue for a visit to the Bistro. Hoping to see you soon.

    Jersey Foodies, phoenikia, and foodie4life, I really missed being with all of you and my other Hound pals.

    Jason GG, How sweet of you to consider asking about me at EMP. They told me that a few people actually did call them to find out if I had been there. That really knocked me out.

    Michelle and Susan, I’m so sorry to hear that you both have literally felt my pain. Here’s to a pain-free 2011 and beyond for all of us!

Leave a Reply

