Sunday NYT Puzzle – 2/13/11

This one started out as another of those no-way-I’ll-ever-finish-this-one puzzles. I first looked at it around 9 p.m. The title, “Bargaining,” was no help figuring out the theme or trick. After about an hour, I had filled in only a few random answers. Stymied, I put the puzzle aside.

I took it up again about a half-hour later and began making some progress in the bottom sections. A breakthrough regarding the title came when I figured out that the answer to 103 Across was Soap BAR Opera. Aha! So, it was actually BAR-Gaining. Familiar expressions + BAR = silly expressions. Despite this, I still wasn’t able to make even more progress, so I gave it up and fell asleep.

Next thing I know, it’s 4 a.m., and I’m wide awake. I began working on the puzzle again. Now, clues that had continuously stumped me suddenly had answers. In a little over an hour, I completed it. This has happened to me many times before, but it still shocks me. The amazing brain! Later in the morning, I checked Rex Parker to make sure everything was correct. Yup!

The other theme answers:

What’s My BAR Line?
No BARfly Zone
The DaVinci BARcode
Alien Space BAR Craft
Cash BAR for Clunkers
Saved by the BARbell
Mars BARs Attacks

NYT Sunday Puzzle - 2/13/11

Leave a Reply

