Spring, Purim, and J.S. Bach

Today is the first day of spring though you’d hardly know it around here. Rainy, cold and in northern NJ, it snowed.

It’s also Purim. But for various reasons, we’ll be doing our Purim dinner next Sunday. The menu will be a repeat of last year’s.

There is another celebration today. It is the 326th birthday of Johann Sebastian Bach, born on March 21, 1685. He is one of my favorite classical composers.

I’m sure there is no piano student of classical music who has not played Bach’s Minuet in G. This is the cover of my First Lessons in Bach for the Piano, which as you can see by the price, was purchased many years ago.

"First Lessons in Bach for the Piano"

And this is the page for Minuet in G (marking by my first music teacher).

Bach's Minuet in G

Here a pianist (No, not me!) doing a very nice job playing it.

I love Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos. If I had to choose my favorite of the six, it would probably be the third.

Leave a Reply

