It’s My Birthday!

scan0002

This is my favorite photo of me as a child.

One of my dad’s hobbies was photography. He not only took photos but also developed them. Where he did the latter when we were living on the Lower East Side is a mystery to me since we lived in a very small one-bedroom apartment. But when we moved to our house in Laurelton, he partitioned off a section of the finished basement as a dark room.  Thus, no surprise that all the boatload of photos I have of me as a baby and as a kid were taken by him — except this one.

My mom decided that she wanted a formal portrait. So, she took me to Lorston Studios, located in Midtown in the low 40’s, just off 5th Avenue.  For those living on the LES, it was considered the premier place to have your child’s picture taken.

One of the things I love about this photo is that it’s in sepia.

6 Responses to “It’s My Birthday!”

  1. mary beth Says:

    happy birthday, birthday twin!

    Mary Beth
    mbw1024

  2. thewizardofroz Says:

    Right back at you, Mary Beth! Because of your screen name, I always suspected that you and I shared the same birthday. I hope you have a lovely day! 🙂

  3. Eileen Says:

    I hope you have a fabulous day! The picture is too adorable..like you! 🙂 Enjoy my friend!

    Eileen

  4. thewizardofroz Says:

    Thanks, Eileen! It was, indeed, a very memorable celebration! I hope you, George, and Milania are well. 🙂

  5. Eve Granick Says:

    Happy Birthday!!

  6. thewizardofroz Says:

    Thanks, Eve! 🙂 Hope all is well on your end.

Leave a Reply

