NY Times Puzzle – Thursday, March 22, 2012

NY Times Puzzle - Thursday, March 22,2012

Theme: eaks/akes

I figured out the theme fairly quickly. Each answer contains a play on those words.

19A. Entrees for one of Dion’s backup singers? = Belmont steaks
30A. Discounts at garages? = Parking brakes
36A. Severely reduced wagers? = Chopped stakes
52A. What mechanics may do as part of a tuneup? = Service brakes

19A. first tipped me off to the theme. Dion and the Belmonts was one of my favorite rock ‘n’ roll groups in the 1950’s.

Completing an error-free puzzle came down to filling in one letter. The problem was that I didn’t know the correct answers to the two intersecting clues containing that letter. So, I left that space blank from Thursday until this morning when I decided to just guess. And I guessed right!

17A. Wing part = AILERON
5D. Rookie: Var. = TIRO

Leave a Reply

