NY Times Puzzle – Thursday, May 24, 2012

NYTimes Puzzle - Thursday, May 24, 2012

Theme: US Cities where two Interstates cross

I took this puzzle with me to Philadelphia and was surprised at how easily I finished though I didn’t get the meaning of the theme clues until I was done.

The answer to 62 Across is the clue to the theme: 1969 Cream hit…or a hint to the seven “mathematical” clues to this puzzle. Answer: Crossroads. However, I figured out that the theme answers were cities before I got the answer to 62 Across. I’m not familiar with Cream, so I didn’t know the name of the song. I got “cross” first and eventually filled in “roads.”

17A. 65 + 20 = Birmingham
40A. 75 + 20 = Atlanta
4D. 55 + 40 = Memphis
11D. 5 + 10 = Los Angeles
28D. 35 + 10 = San Antonio
30D. 29 + 80 = Detroit

Leave a Reply

