Strawberry Picking 2012

I nearly missed it. I thought it would start toward late May and end mid-June. Usually, I receive a card from Battleview Orchards but none came. Good thing I checked their website before we left for Philly. Turns out strawberry picking started around May 8th and ends today. So, right after we came back, I headed over to Battleview and picked nearly four pounds.

Strawberry Picking 2012

My favorite thing to make with freshly picked strawberries is ice cream.

Homemade Strawberry Ice Cream

A “Black & White” Ice Cream Soda becomes a “Black & Pink.”

"Black & Pink" Ice Cream Soda

2 Responses to “Strawberry Picking 2012”

  1. nmprisons Says:

    These are great, Roz. J and I went blueberry picking last week and did the same thing (ice cream). I also made a blueberry and burboun sauce for some pork loin, which turned out well. This weekends adventure brought us some peaches and we are turning them into peach ice cream as I type this. Hope the rest of your harvest season is as enjoyable and successful.

  2. thewizardofroz Says:

    Hi nmp, I’m sure J can whip up some killer desserts with blueberries and peaches. They are my favorite fruits. There’s no place around here to pick blueberries and though Battleview does have peach-picking, I don’t do it. So, I’m eagerly waiting for the NJ crops, as well as corn and tomatoes, to start showing up in markets and at farmstands.

Leave a Reply

