NYT Sunday Puzzle – March 17, 2013

NYT Sunday Puzzle - March 17, 2013

Title: Any Pun for Tennis?

The theme answers are puns on the tennis-related clues.

23A. Tennis clinic focusing on drop shot skills? = Networking event
38A. Coaches who help you use your wrist in shots? = Spin doctors
49A. Tennis players who clown around? = Court jesters
67A. “For a righty, you hit the ball pretty well on your left side,” and others? = Backhanded compliments
88A. Line judge’s mission? = Fault finding
96A. “Nothing” and “aught”? = Love handles
116A. Luke Skywalker’s volley? = Return of the Jedi
17D. Mistakenly hitting into the doubles area during a singles match? = Alley oops
78D. Start of a tennis match? = Serve time

A few interesting answers:

9A. Classic verse that begins, “Ah, broken is the golden bowl.” Answer: Lenore (E.A. Poe) Stumped me briefly as it’s not as well-known at “The Raven” and “Annabel Lee.”

64A. Photo developing compound. Answer: Amidol. I had no clue and got it by filling in the answers around it.

114A. Planchette holder. Answer: Ouija. Another mystery to me.

59D. Batting champ John. Answer: Olerud. I don’t follow baseball anywhere near as closely as I did when I was younger, so I hadn’t heard of him.

70D. “Singin’ in the Rain” composer _____ Herb Brown. Answer: Nacio. I’m probably in the minority, but I’ve never cared much for the movie.

92D. 1958 hit with the line “Yip yip yip yip yip yip yip yip.” Answer: Get a Job. A really easy one for me since that was the music of my teen years, and this “golden oldie” was one of my favorites.  Actually, it still is.  Here’s the original version by The Silhouettes.

Leave a Reply

