Saturday Supper: Lamb and Eggplant Casserole

Last night’s supper had a Mediterranean theme.

A few days ago, I made a soup that included chickpeas (I use the ones in a can) and had some of them left over. So, I made hummus.  The recipe is from The Book of Jewish Food: An Odyssey from Samarkand to New York, by Claudia Roden (Published in 1997) — a fantastic cookbook, not just for the wonderful recipes but also because of the interesting and informative text provided throughout.

After I ate some of the hummus for lunch, there was still enough leftover for yesterday’s first course. I plated the hummus with cut up raw veggies, Kalamata olives, and a bit of Feta cheese.

At Home:  Homemade Hummus

To scoop up the hummus, there was warm pita. I like Toufayan’s small “Pitettes” that come 8 to a package.

At Home:  Toufayan Pita

At Home:  Toufayan Pita

I adore lamb and eggplant in any way, shape or form, so this Lamb and Eggplant Casserole is right up my gustatory alley. The recipe comes from Jewish Cooking Around the World, by Hanna Goodman (Published in 1969). I can’t remember how this book became part of my cookbook collection. It’s possible I bought it at a book sale. In any case, this is my favorite recipe in the book. I’ve made it countless times. It’s easy and quick to assemble. It’s delicious!

At Home: Lamb and Eggplant Casserole

Rice pilaf lightly flavored with cinnamon is the perfect accompaniment.

At Home:  Lamb and Eggplant Casserole

Leave a Reply

