Saturday Supper: Celebrating Purim

I normally don’t do a lot of cooking on Saturday; hence the idea of simple Saturday suppers. However, to celebrate Purim, I spent most of yesterday morning and into early afternoon cooking and baking.

I always make hamantaschen. Two types: prune and apricot.

At Home 2014:  Hamantaschen

There are no other foods specific to Purim, so to me, typical Jewish food seems most appropriate.

To begin the meal, I made Chicken Soup with Noodles, Carrots, Parsnips, and Homemade Matzo Balls.

Homemade Chicken Soup

The recipes for the soup and the matzo balls come from Arthur Schwartz’s Jewish Home Cooking: Yiddish Recipes Revisited. While the recipe for the soup is quite common (I could probably do it without one), the recipe Arthur provides for the matzo balls (in Yiddish, knaidlach) is from the 2nd Ave. Deli. I’ve made them before, and they are light as the proverbial feather.

I should also mention that Michael has a cold, and since he adores chicken soup, there’s no better cure than “Jewish penicillin.”

Holiptches (stuffed cabbage) is something I make only once a year sometime during the cold weather months. Since I hadn’t yet made them this winter, they were the ideal main dish for this dinner.

Holipches

One of the earliest posts on this blog was “Bobbe Bopsy’s Holiptches.” So, if you want to see how I make them, click here

HAPPY PURIM!

Hamantaschen

Leave a Reply

