Saturday Supper: Asparagus Soup and Haddock with Leeks and Tomatoes

I’ve rarely seen haddock at Wegmans fish counter. So, when I stopped by yesterday afternoon intending to get either haddock’s sister fish cod or, perhaps, halibut and saw the sign for haddock, I asked the young man behind the counter about it. He pointed to two long, pristine filets. “It came in fresh this morning,” he said. “This is all that’s left.” I chose the larger of the two pieces. It weighed just over half a pound. Perfect! We do portion control, and this would make four ounces for each of us.

We started the meal with hot asparagus soup. I adore asparagus, and this is one of my favorite soups.

At Home:  Asparagus Soup

For the main course, first, I prepared the leeks which would be a bed for the haddock. I sautéed the sliced leeks briefly in butter, added white wine, and cooked them until tender. Next I made the sauce: orange juice (freshly squeezed), grape tomatoes, shallots, capers, and parsley. Finally, I roasted the haddock at 450 degrees for about 10 minutes and then assembled the dish. It had been so long since I’d last had haddock, I’d forgotten that its flavor is sweeter than cod. It was cooked perfectly, and the other elements on the plate worked very well with it. In a word (if I must say so myself):  Delicious!

At Home:  Haddock with Leeks and Tomatoes

Note: These are our daily Passover dishes: milk glass, service for 8. I bought them the first year we were married which makes them 46 years old.

2 Responses to “Saturday Supper: Asparagus Soup and Haddock with Leeks and Tomatoes”

  1. Eileen Says:

    Nice work, Chef Roz!

  2. thewizardofroz Says:

    Ha, ha! Thanks for the compliment, Eileen! 🙂

Leave a Reply

