At Home: Chanukah Family Dinner

This year’s Chanukah family dinner took place last Saturday. I had asked my brother and sister-in-law to join us, but they had a previous engagement that couldn’t be changed. So, it was going to be just Michael, Jen, Louis, and me. However, on Saturday morning, Mel called. Turned out Marcie had gotten the date of their other engagement wrong, so they were able to come after all providing there would be enough food. Of course, I was very pleased they could be with us. And since I’m in the tradition of Jewish cooks who always overdo quantities, there was way more than four people could possibly consume. In the end, even with six, there were some leftovers.

Our traditional Chanukah menu: my “famous” chopped salad, pot roast, potato latkes, applesauce, and red cabbage. I baked gluten-free cookies. Jen made a flourless walnut cake.

At Home: Chanukah Family Dinner 2014

At Home: Chanukah Family Dinner 2014

At Home: Chanukah Family Dinner 2014

At Home: Chanukah Family Dinner 2014

At Home:  Chanukah Family Dinner 2014

At Home: Chanukah Family Dinner 2014

At Home:  Chanukah Family Dinner 2014

At Home:  Chanukah Family Dinner 2014

We gave Jen and Louis their Chanukah gelt (i.e., checks). We don’t usually expect gifts from them, but this year they surprised us with these:

At Home:  Chanukah Family Dinner 2014

I think you can guess which book was for me! It has enticing recipes and gorgeous color photos. Believe it or not, I’ve never made or cooked with schmaltz, so this book was the perfect choice to get me started.

Leave a Reply

