Passover Dinner at BLT Prime

Why is this Passover different from all Passovers before it? The answer, Dear Friends, will not be found in the Haggadah. In fact, yesterday, the first night of Passover, our Haggadahs remained on the shelf, as they will tonight. That’s because this year, I decided to make things very easy for myself by totally departing from tradition. So, no Seders, “Express” or otherwise! Also, I did no baking. Ergo, no Caramel Chocolate Crunch and no Cheese Pie with My Kichel Crust. I bought a couple of cans of macaroons and a box of Ring Jells, and that was that!

However, just because there would be no Seders did not mean forgoing festive meals. So, yesterday evening, we went to BLT Prime (Yes, that would be the steakhouse!) where — Surprise! Surprise! — they offer a special Passover menu for the entire eight days. I actually discovered that they were doing this last year. Since I don’t recall seeing anything about it prior to that, it might have been the first time. But in any case, Michael and I tried it and were thrilled with how delicious the food was. This time, Jen and Louis joined us.

I have to admit that I liked last year’s menu better. Nevertheless, everything was well-prepared, and we all enjoyed the meal.

Matzoh

Matzoh

Matzoh Ball Soup

Matzoh Ball Soup with Chicken Broth

Deviled Eggs

Deviled Eggs with Smoked Salmon and Parsley Pistou

Braised Lamb Shank

Braised Lamb Shank with Kale and Horseradish Salt

Potato Leek Hashbrowns

Potato Leek Hashbrowns

Glazed Carrots

Glazed Carrots

Asparagus

Asparagus

Ice Cream Sundae

Ice Cream Sundae

Flourless Chocolate Cake

Flourless Chocolate Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream* and Hazelnuts

And the best part? When we were finished, I didn’t have to clean up!

This evening, Michael and I will be doing the special Passover menu at Telepan. Stay tuned for that report.

*Note: The ice cream on the menu was banana, but I requested vanilla.

The entire photo album for this dinner can be seen on my Flickr here.

Leave a Reply

