At Home: Labor Day BBQ for Two

The weather — sunny and mid-80’s — could not have been more perfect for our Labor Day barbecue.

While the grill was heating up, we started with some orange flesh melon. I’ve pretty much given up on cantaloupe since I’ve had more misses than hits with them. While these melons are much more expensive, the cost is well worth it since you can judge them by smell. At the store, a good one, i.e., juicy and sweet, exudes a lovely aroma that when taken home perfumes the entire kitchen.

At Home: Labor Day BBQ for Two (2015)

At Home: Labor Day BBQ for Two (2015)

Clairmont Diner Health Salad

I’ve mentioned previously on the blog that I have a tradition regarding when I serve hot dogs. I start on Memorial Day and end on Labor Day. This time around, I had just one frank and one knockwurst left, so we shared them. I added a burger which we also shared (in keeping with our aim of portion control).

At Home: Labor Day BBQ for Two (2015)

At Home: Labor Day BBQ for Two (2015)

At Home: Labor Day BBQ for Two (2015)

At Home: Labor Day BBQ for Two (2015)

At Home: Labor Day BBQ for Two (2015)

When it came time for dessert, Michael finished off the remains of some ice cream straight out of the container. And after cleaning up, I made myself a black and white ice cream soda though instead of seltzer, I used what was left of my cream soda.

At Home: Labor Day BBQ for Two (2015)

At Home: Labor Day BBQ for Two (2015)

One Response to “At Home: Labor Day BBQ for Two”

  1. dave green Says:

    thanks for the labor day review roz. You’ve been missed! best to you and michael, dave

Leave a Reply

