At Home: Crustless Quiche

After having periodontal surgery a couple of weeks ago, I was faced with certain dietary restrictions. As I mulled over what things I could prepare that would meet the restrictions, the idea of making a quiche popped up. I think it occurred to me because a week before the surgery when Michael and I had lunch at Upland, one of our favorite NYC spots, we’d had an excellent Quiche Lorraine. (Yes, real men do eat quiche!) I’ve made quiches before though the last time was ages ago. So, a good idea, but…. Since a major no-no on the post-op diet was anything crunchy, anything with a crust was out. Well, I thought, why not make a quiche sans crust? And so I did! In a word: Delicious!

At Home: Onion Bacon Crustless Quiche

At Home: Onion & Bacon Crustless Quiche

Here’s the recipe:

Butter
1 small onion
2 strips of bacon
3 eggs
½ cup heavy cream
1 cup grated Gruyère
½ cup grated Parmesan Reggiano
Salt
Freshly ground black pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an 8” pie plate.

Slice the onion. Sauté in butter. Fry the bacon (I didn’t make it crispy but you can) and cut the strips into very small pieces.

Whisk together the eggs, heavy cream, and cheeses. Add the onions, bacon, a bit of salt, and several grindings of pepper. Mix well. Pour into prepared pie plate. Bake for about 25 minutes.

Tags:

5 Responses to “At Home: Crustless Quiche”

  1. dave green Says:

    many thanks for the recipe roz and hope this finds you all better!

  2. thewizardofroz Says:

    Appreciate the kind wishes, Dave! If you make the quiche, I hope you enjoy it.

  3. premshree Says:

    So, a frittata? 🙂 Looks good.

  4. thewizardofroz Says:

    Hi premshree,

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting! I suppose this does resemble a frittata. However, as you may know, the preparation is different. Since the frittata is cooked in a frying pan on top of the stove and then put under the broiler to brown the top, it requires more active attention.

    I’ve looked at your website. Very nice! 🙂

  5. premshree Says:

    Ha, yes, that makes sense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

