At Home: July 4th Weekend 2016

July 4th fell on a Monday. Ergo, a three-day weekend. Not that it matters to Michael and me since we are retired, so every day is a weekend! But for Jen and Louis who are still gainfully employed, it meant an extra paid day away from the office. And that’s a good thing! We let them select which day to come out for our holiday barbecue, and they chose Saturday. A few days before, Jen and I discussed possibilities for what to serve at lunch and dinner. After she checked with Louis as to his preferences (Michael said he was fine with whatever was decided), we finalized the menus.

Lunch was simple and pretty quick: franks and beans. I decided to keep my camera zipped up, so no photos. At least, not of those franks and beans. But stay tuned….

We had settled on chicken for dinner’s main course. I chose to do a whole chicken beer-can style.

At Home: July 4th Weekend 2016

I love doing it this way because once you get it ready and put it on the bbq, it requires no tending. Ready in about an hour. However, instead of beer, I used white wine. Since you can fill the container with any type of liquid, the past two times I’ve made chicken this way, I’ve tried first beer and then white wine. Frankly, Michael and I haven’t detected any beer or wine flavor in the chicken. So we’ve come to the conclusion that the liquid makes a bird that is incredibly juicy. Even the white meat!

While the chicken was roasting, we had cups of watermelon gazpacho.

At Home: July 4th Weekend 2016

Chicken’s ready! Here’s some of it carved. Dee-licious!

At Home: July 4th Weekend 2016

After lunch, we had taken a ride to get Jersey corn. We all agreed these were disappointing as they weren’t very sweet.

At Home: July 4th Weekend 2016

It’s a tradition for us to have the “Clairmont Diner Health Salad” at July 4th barbecues. Michael’s mother gave me the recipe years ago. She got it from one of her sisters who lived in Verona, NJ, near the Clairmont Diner. Since I’ve never been to the Clairmont, I have no idea how authentic this recipe is. But it sure makes for very tasty eating!

At Home: July 4th Weekend 2016

Before lunch, the topic of pickles came up since I was going to put some out with that meal. Louis said he liked half-sours but not sours. I didn’t recall him every telling me that, so I didn’t have any half-sours on hand. Actually, I don’t like them, but had I known, I would gladly have bought some for him. After all, he is our favorite son-in-law! In any case, the pickles I prefer and always have in the frig are these:

At Home: July 4th Weekend 2016

Louis was skeptical about liking them since he thought they’d be like sours. But after a nibble, he promptly fell in love with them. So, of course, I put some out at dinner.

At Home: July 4th Weekend 2016

Drinks were lemonade for Jen and me, beer for Michael, and Perrier for Louis.

At Home: July 4th Weekend 2016

At Home: July 4th Weekend 2016

We kept dessert simple. I still had some of the strawberry ice cream I’d made using the second batch of strawberries Michael and I picked at Battleview Orchards in June. I also made Bing cherry sorbet. Delectable! Delectable!

At Home: July 4th Weekend 2016

At Home: July 4th Weekend 2016

On Sunday, Michael and I enjoyed a barbecue for two with Missouri-style baby back ribs taking center stage. Again, I decided to relax and not be a slave to my camera.

On Monday, the 240th anniversary of our nation’s birth, Michael and I had franks and beans again. Made sense since there were two franks that I hadn’t cooked. This time, I took photos of them and the rest of the meal.

At Home: July 4, 2016

Watermelon Gazpacho with Feta

At Home: July 4, 2016

Hebrew National Franks

At Home: July 4, 2016

At Home: July 4, 2016

At Home: July 4, 2016

At Home: July 4, 2016

Batampte Sour Kraut and Garlic Dills

At Home: July 4, 2016

Homemade Cole Slaw

At Home: July 4, 2016

At Home: July 4, 2016

At Home: July 4, 2016

At Home: July 4, 2016

At Home: July 4, 2016

Homemade Strawberry Ice Cream

At Home: July 4, 2016

Homemade Bing Cherry Sorbet

Photo sets on Flickr for the two meals can be viewed here and here.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

