In Our Backyard, a Robin Builds a Nest in a Bush

A few days ago, when we were having breakfast on the patio, I noticed a robin flying into this bush.

At Home: Bird Nest in a Bush

Hmmm… A few seconds later, the robin flew out and off. A few moments later it was back. This time I saw it was holding something in its beak – a twig. Again remaining inside for a few seconds, the robin flew off once more returning with another twig.

Aha! It must be building a nest inside the bush! I’d always thought birds only build nests in trees – and there are lots of those on our property – but obviously not!

The robin departed yet again. I quickly got my camera figuring I might be able to use the telephoto lens to “see” if I was correct. Though it’s hardly the most powerful lens available, it did manage to capture the nest.

At Home: Bird Nest in a Bush

When the robin returned, this time it didn’t fly out immediately. What was it doing? I ventured closer to the bush though not too close because I didn’t want to disturb the bird and snapped these.

At Home: Bird Nest in a Bush

At Home: Bird Nest in a Bush

My guess? It was laying an egg! Via Googling, I learned that unlike most other birds that lay their eggs at sunrise, robins lay theirs mid-morning and lay one at a time each day with a maximum of four.

After a while, the robin flew off but didn’t return. I took one more shot hoping I might be able to see if there was a blue egg in the nest. (I’m sure we all know that robins’ eggs are blue. There’s even a color named after them.) Alas, if there was/is an egg in there, it wasn’t visible to my camera. And there was no way I was going to get up close and personal to find out because I didn’t want to disturb things if there was an egg there.

At Home: Bird Nest in a Bush

I haven’t seen the robin since then. I’ll be keeping an eye out for any further activity and will report back with any news. So, stay tuned!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

