Heirloom Tomatoes from the Clayton Family Farm

I first bought heirloom tomatoes from the Clayton Family Farm in 2011. Here’s the blog post I did back then. I also posted a complete set of photos on my Flickr.

Each year, the Claytons have increased the variety of heirlooms they grow. Now, it’s about a dozen. When I went down there several weeks ago, they didn’t have any yet. But this morning, there were plenty.

At Home: Heirloom Tomatoes

Of course, we had to have some at lunch this afternoon. A sprinkling of Maldon Sea Salt, a very light dressing of extra-virgin olive oil, and a bit of fresh basil. Yum!

At Home: Heirloom Tomato Salad

I also bought Early Girl tomatoes and fairytale eggplant. Clayton is the only place that grows these in our area.

At Home: Early Girl Tomatoes and Fairytale Eggplant

Have I mentioned that I love summer vegetables?

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

