At Home: New Year’s Eve 2016

Last year, Michael wanted to celebrate his upcoming 75th birthday in January by doing New Year’s Eve up big at Eleven Madison Park. So, we did! This year, it was back to staying home in NJ, having our annual beef fondue, and listening to the WQXR Classical Countdown.

At Home: New Year's Eve 2016

Here’s the beef! Prime Tenderloin (aka Filet Mignon).

At Home: New Year's Eve 2016

I put in my order at Whole Foods a couple of weeks ago and told them I wanted to pick up the meat Friday morning, the 30th. On Thursday, I got a call from WH about my order. I had ordered 2 lbs. but for some strange reason, they had me down for 4-5! Big difference! Once that was corrected, she asked me if I wanted Prime or the next step down which I think was Choice. Definitely Prime, I said. We confirmed the next day pick-up between 11 and noon.  A few minutes later, she called back. Seems they wouldn’t be getting the Prime until Saturday morning. Would I be willing to wait? I was fine with waiting so long as she could guarantee that if the Prime didn’t come in, I would at least be able to get the other. She said that wouldn’t be a problem. She also told me they would be taking off $2 for “the inconvenience.” I never asked exactly what that meant, so I’m not sure whether she meant $2/lb. or for the entire order. In any case, when I showed up on Saturday morning, they had gotten the Prime. The butcher brought it out wrapped, so I asked to see the meat. Just as I requested, there were individual steaks. As you can see, gorgeous! But I noticed that each one was tied, so I asked if he could please remove the strings which he was more than willing to do. (I could have done it myself, but I figured why not have him save me the trouble?). Before rewrapping the steaks, he put them on the scale to get a digital price tag. Whoa! The scale read a little over 3 lbs. I reminded him that I’d ordered only 2. Well, he said that he’d only charged me for a bit over 2. Plus, of course, there was that $2 that was taken off. Though I did ask him why they were giving me this freebee, I’m still not clear as to the reason. In any case, we were gifted one lb. of Prime Tenderloin. A very nice New Year’s present from the Meat Dept. at “Whole Paycheck.”

Chunks of steak ready for the fondue:

At Home: New Year's Eve 2016

I initially cut up two of the steaks each of which weighed 8 ounces and later half of another. Altogether, that was 20 ounces. I wrapped the rest individually and froze them.

Michael used his Coravin to pour himself a glass of Bordeaux.

At Home: New Year's Eve 2016

At Home: New Year's Eve 2016

Having the Coravin is great. Since I don’t drink wine, it enables Michael to have just a glass or two of fine quality wine without actually opening the bottle because after the Coravin is removed, the bottle is resealed and can be kept indefinitely.

We started with a Salad of Red Leaf Lettuce dressed with Homemade Vinaigrette.

At Home: New Year's Eve 2016

On to the main event:

At Home: New Year's Eve 2016

At Home: New Year's Eve 2016

Sauces: Tarragon, Horseradish, Mustard, Garlic

Rösti Potatoes are the perfect side dish.

At Home: New Year's Eve 2016

After a short break while I did some cleaning up, we had dessert. Thanks to Andrews’s delicious ice cream gift

For Michael:

At Home: New Year's Eve 2016

Salt & Straw’s Double Fold Vanilla

For me:

At Home: New Year's Eve 2016

Salt & Straw Almond Brittle with Salted Ganache, Chocolate Gooey Brownie + Fox’s U-bet Chocolate Syrup

As for the Classical Countdown, no surprise what was in the Number 1 spot. It has garnered that spot for as long as we can remember Actually, four of the top five were Beethoven symphonies. I guess you can see he’s very popular!

5. Beethoven: Symphony No. 6 in F Major, Op. 68 “Pastoral”
4. Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92
3. Dvorak: Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, “From the New World”
2. Beethoven: Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67
1. Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, Op. 125 “Choral”

At a few minutes before midnight, we went upstairs, turned on the TV to Channel 7 (ABC), turned off the sound, and watched the ball drop while listening to the final 10 minutes of Beethoven’s Ninth.

This New Year’s Eve coincided with the final night of Chanukah.

At Home: New Year's Eve 2016

Wishing everyone a Happy, Healthy 2017!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

