The Books I Read in 2016

When it comes to reading books, I’m a Luddite. No iBooks, eBooks, Kindles, or Nooks for me! And with the exception of the an occasional cookbook, I don’t buy books. What I am is a card-carrying patron of the Monmouth Country Library System. And proud of it! I get most of my books from the local Marlboro branch but will sometimes head to the Main Branch (aka “Headquarters”), in Manalapan, if a book I’m interested in can only be found there.

While I generally favor fiction, this past year I read half-a-dozen non-fiction works. Here’s the list in the order in which I read them:

The Wright Brothers by David McCullough (Started in December 2015 and finished in January 2016.)
At Home by Bill Bryson (Same as above.)
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
The Man of My Dreams by Curtis Sittenfeld
Sisterhood by Curtis Sittenfeld
Max Perkins: Editor of Genius by A. Scott Berg
As I Was Saying… by Frank Mankiewicz
Hotel du Lac by Anita Brookner
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
Dropped Names by Frank Langella
Master of Ceremonies by Joel Grey
Brooklyn by Colm Toibin
X by Sue Grafton
Some Luck by Jane Smiley (Book 1 of Trilogy)
Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger
Early Warning by Jane Smiley(Book 2 of Trilogy)
Golden Age by Jane Smiley (Book 3 of Trilogy)
Chasing Harry Winston by Lauren Weisberger
The Rules of Love & Grammar by Mary Simpses
Last Night at the Chateau Marmont by Lauren Weisberger
City Boy: The Adventures of Herbie Bookbinder by Herman Wouk
Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson
Falling: A Love Story by Jane Green
The Singles Game by Lauren Weisberger
Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld
Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Stout
The Restaurant That Changes America by Paul Freedman

In December, I started The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson. I’m about half-way through.

Tags:

One Response to “The Books I Read in 2016”

  1. ulterior epicure Says:

    If you’re a Luddite, I’m a sloth. In 2016, I managed to finish only three books: “All the Shah’s Men” by Stephen Kinzer; “Game Change” by Heilemann and Halperin; and “George IV” by Christopher Hibbert. New Year resolution (perennially): READ MORE BOOKS.

Leave a Reply

