Archive for March 20th, 2017

Spring!

March 20, 2017

While I was sleeping, the vernal equinox arrived at 6:28 a.m. Winter has been keeping a firm grip this past week with temperatures in the 30’s, well south of the low to mid-50’s it should be at this point in March. On this first day of spring, it will be 50 degrees which will feel welcome. And speaking of welcome…

“Welcome Sweet Springtime” is an old song that popped into my head. Though the entire melody was quite clear, I could only remember the first two lines, so I looked up the lyrics. (Everything is on the Google!)

Welcome sweet springtime,
We greet thee in song,
Murmurs of gladness,
Fall on the ear.

Voices long hushed,
Now hear full notes, prolong,
Echoing far and near.

Sunshine awaits for,
The flower that’s from seed,
Joy giving incense,
Fall on the air.

Snowdrops and primrose,
Both timidly beam,
Hailing the glad new year.

Balmy in life,
Breathing breezes are blowing,
Swiftly to nature,
New vigors bestowing.

Oh, how my heart beats,
With rapture anew,
Earth’s flower in beauty,
Again feeds my view.

The music is Anton Rubenstein’s Melody in F.

