At Home: July 4th BBQ Lunch al Fresco

During the summer months, the trees and shade inn our backyard usually make temperatures many degrees cooler than the official numbers and with a definitely difference from the front of the house which gets full sun most of the day. But for several days this week, the combo of near 100 degrees along with beastly humidity made it impossible to eat on the patio. However, on Wednesday, July 4th, there was a change. Temps in the high 80’s, less humidity, not much sun, and a gentle breeze allowed us to have our holiday lunch al fresco. Jen and Louis decided to pass on coming out, so it was just the two of us.

I grilled three Hebrew National Franks — two for Michael, one for me.

Hebrew National Franks

I made Chilled Zucchini Soup to start.

Chilled Zucchini Soup

Batampte Deli Mustard and Sour Kraut are musts. But lately, rather than pickles, I’ve been buying Batampte Pickled Green Tomatoes. A delicious change of pace.

Batampte Sour Kraut, Pickled Tomtoes, and Deli Mustard

Franks and beans are the classic go-together. So, as usual, there were Busch’s Vegetarian Baked Beans.

Busch's Vegetarian Baked Beans

I usually make cole slaw, but since I didn’t have any cabbage, I put together some Macaroni Salad. The mix includes onions; green, red, and yellow peppers; and black and pimento-stuffed green olives.

DSC07172

Michael had the Yankee ballgame on (on the radio) while we ate.

At Home: July 4th BBQ Lunch (2018)

My Plate

My Plate

Drinks: Dr. Brown’s Cream Soda for me. Diet Coke Zero for Michael. He also had Perrier

Drinks

For dessert, Homemade Strawberry Ice Cream. I made a quart last month. Since I didn’t do pick-your-own at Battleview Orchards this year, we bought boxes of the berries their crew picks each day at their market.

Homemade Strawberry Ice Cream

By the way, Michael pointed out to me that, in line with the occasion, he changed his watch band to the appropriate colors.

M.'s Watch Band for July 4th

I hope everyone had a wonderful 4th!

The photo set for this meal can be viewed on my Flickr here.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.