Four Days of al Fresco Dining in NYC: Loi Estiatorio

LUNCH
August 1, 2023

We had dinner at Loi Estitatorio right after it opened many years ago. I don’t know exactly when that was, but I do remember it was in the winter and Jen went with us. (Don’t recall why Louis didn’t.) We took a town car, first going uptown from our apartment to pick her up at her place on the UES, then headed to the restaurant on W. 58th Street. I also remember that it was snowing. Maybe it wasn’t snowing when we left because I can’t imagine we would have gone if it had started before we left. As for what we ate, that’s also down the memory whole. If I took photos, my Flickr is no help because I can’t access quite a  few old pages which is where those photos might be. Sometime after our visit to Loi, an excellent Greek restaurant, Eros, opened a few blocks from our apartment. It became our go to spot whenever we had a yen for Greek cuisine. However, a few months ago, Eros closed. The website says, “for renovations.” But who knows? It could be closed for good. In any case…

There is something else that prompted me to put Loi Estiatorio on our 4-day dining itinerary. I had been watching Maria Loi’s new cooking series on the PBS Create network. In the first half of each episode, she is in Greece where she with a chef from a Greek restaurant who cooks an enticing dish. In the second half, she’s in the kitchen of her eponymous restaurant where she prepares a couple of dishes. She has a very engaging personality, and her food is mouth-watering.

Since I wanted to include a cuisine in our itinerary other than Italian, French, or contemporary American, Greek would fill the bill nicely. Her website says there is outdoor dining, so why not go to Loi and experience the food I saw her make? (The menu includes many of those items.) Maybe even get a chance to meet her in person? I made a reservation for noon which is when they opened.

The outdoor seating is in a long structure built curbside with some protection from the elements, has comfortable chairs and linen-covered tables. There was a bottle of olive oil with Loi’s label on the table. (See above.) She is a huge proponent of the healthfulness of Greek olive oil, and she uses it copiously in her dishes. What I didn’t know is that she has her own brand. And not just olive oil which you will see when I describe what we ate.

As we looked over the menu, a bowl of various breads was brought to our table along with a jar of Loi’s own brand of dip.

That blend of yogurt and feta was delicious.

We ordered two different First Course items intending to share them.


Melitzanosalata
(Eggplant Salad)


Greek Salad

Unfortunately, Michael did not like the eggplant because it was too plain, i.e., not babaganoush. I was fine with it because it’s the way I grew up eating it. We shared the salad, an excellent one in every respect, especially the feta. I couldn’t finish all the eggplant, so I took what was left home and, with the addition of tahini, lemon juice and garlic, turned it into babaganoush.

For the Main Course, we both had fish though we chose different ones with differing preparations.

Michael


Fish en Papillote
Chef’s Fish Selection, Seasonal Vegetables, Loi Garlic-Potato Dip, Lemon, Olive Oil

Roz


Branzino
Olive oil, Lemon


Lemon Potatoes

The en papillote is a dish she prepared in one of the episodes. Though I don’t remember which fish was used this time, Michael was pleased with the entire dish. Branzino is one of my favorite fishes. Perfectly grilled, moist and full of flavor, it needed only a simple dressing of oil and lemon. According to the menu, it’s accompanied by  “seasonal greens.” I asked if lemon potatoes, another favorite of mine, could be substituted. They were so good.

Michael had a glass of this Greek wine.

Just as we were finishing our mains, I looked over and saw Maria Loi standing at the front of the restaurant near the reception desk. I had mentioned earlier to our server that I watch Loi’s series. She must have reported that to her because Loi came to our table. Of course, I told her how much I enjoyed the series, and we both praised the food we’d just had. She sent out three complimentary desserts which were all delectable.


Chef Loi’s Flourless Chocolate Cake


Baklava
Walnuts Wrapped in Crispy Phyllo Layers, with Spiced Honey Drizzle

Yogurt
Loi Greek Yogurt with Cretan Honey & Walnuts

Michael accompanied the desserts with a Cappuccino.

Overall, an excellent meal (Michael and the eggplant the sole exception). I’m glad I included Loi Estiatoria in our itinerary and hope we can visit again before the weather turns cold.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.